Yoga Nidra Meditation & the art of pain relief!

What is it I want to share?

I follow a blog called noonegetsflowersforchronicpain, the writer of this blog has managed to come off medication completely and manage her pain through other methods, one being that she does Yoga Nidra very often, sometimes daily.

man meditating
Meditation is a mental and physical course of action that a person uses to separate themselves from their thoughts and feelings in order to become fully aware.

I was wondering about this, you see I am a huge multiple thinker and with the idea of meditation I would wonder whether my mind would be quiet enough to actually benefit from it, would I be able to do it etc etc.  Also there is the fact that I would not be able to adopt the ‘usual’ sitting position that one normally associates for yoga as sitting sets off my pain levels.

However, I was given a gentle nudge by the writer of the blog mentioned and decided to go ahead and buy it.

Now it took me about 3 weeks before I found time to actually get some peace and quiet to lie down and know that I would not be disturbed, this in itself was quite an eye opener that it took so long.  You see, lessons being learned already 🙂

So what is Yoga Nidra, why did it appeal to me?

In Yoga Nidra Deep Sleep Meditation you lie down in what they call the “corpse” position, so this was a thumbs up for me.  I had lots of pre-conceived ideas of what the CD might sound like, ie flowing water, bells and music plus someone talking, I was very wrong.

This CD runs for approximately 60 mins or so.  Yoga Nidra means ‘Yogic sleep’.  This type of sleep is actually a deep relaxation in which you move from the waking state, go past the dreaming state and in to a deep sleep state whilst remaining fully awake and alert.

Yes, you will be asking how this is possible?

Let me continue however as to the benefits.  The benefits of this ‘yogic sleep’ is that is releases stress and allows the mind to open to more spiritual explorations.

There is no music in this CD.  There is just a man talking, he has a fairly monotone voice which is almost hypnotic.  He guides you through your physical body, then moves on to go through 61 specific points within the body and then the practice of ascending breath awareness along the body and spine.

The rest you should discover for yourself.

What did it do for me?

chakras
Chakras are points or knots in the subtle body

I was sceptical I will admit.  I lay there first of all thinking, alright my mind is going to be too busy for this.

An odd thing happened.  Instead of my usual thoughts and worries, other types of what I call ‘flashes’ of almost pictures of things would run through my mind.  These flashes weren’t stressful, they were just that, something I was looking at.  It was not a conscious decision, just something that happened.

I would flit between this happening and suddenly thinking “oh no I just missed what he said, I must now listen again”.  Then the same thing would happen again, until finally I woke up and it was over….I felt pretty good after, like a little mental spring clean…but thought alright let’s try this again…

2nd time around

Yogic sleep
Yogic sleep

Same thing happened again.  I can only conclude this is a natural reaction, for me at least.  There were no prevailing intrusive thoughts and stresses pushing in to my  mind which was a blessing.  I would fall asleep again, wake up with his voice, drift off again.

When I woke up I felt great, not buzzing with energy, just calm, mellow!  Which for me is very good.

I think this is something that one grows the more one does the meditation, I am looking forward to purposely setting aside time to do this, which can only be a good thing.

I also believe if the mind is clearer, stresses less, the pain can be less, one can be more focused on the things that get pushed aside due to pain, one is less fuzzy, well I was.

It gets a 10/10 from me.

Why not try it and tell me how you got on?  I would really love to hear other people’s experiences of meditation, how their bodies/minds reacted, because this is new to me!

retro button Living in East Sheen (2) Retro eclectic odds n sods-002 images.nypl_.org-503-3694

6 thoughts on “Yoga Nidra Meditation & the art of pain relief!

  1. Thanks for this, I’m going to have to try it. Anything, to reduce the amount and intensity of my chronic physical pain. Hope you’re feeling much better, and continue to. ~v

    1. Oh honestly I am not a meditation person but it works sooooo well and it got recommended by someone else I know who suffers from chronic pain, and my Alexander Teacher tried it and he was knocked out lol x

Leave a Reply

