Pain Management Programme Day 12 Last Day & Review

Pain Management Programme Day 12 Last Day & Review

My last day has been and gone at the Pain Management Programme.

You can catch upon my PMP Days here:- Pain Management Programme

Pain Management Programme Clinic
Pain Management Programme Clinic

The last day for the Pain Management Programme has been and gone.  It has taken me a while to get around to writing this post.  Having been away effectively for 3 weeks I had a lot of catching up to do and off on holiday tomorrow, it couldn’t have come at a better time.

So the morning was spent very informally going over things, re-capping, seeing if there was anything else we needed to go over.  It was a strange morning, a little bit of sadness was filtering through the group, for me it felt odd that I would be ‘out in the big wide world’ again very soon.

I was very excited however to have connected with a Mindfulness Author who has seen my posts and sent me their second book to read and hopefully chat about, I have a growing list of reading material now.

So everyone was ready to start the friends and family except for my husband who was 20 mins late.  It was odd, I thought I would be alright if he missed some but it became apparent that I really wanted him not to miss anything, it was all important in understanding what is going on and in turn hopefully making a better living environment for all concerned.

All the professionals there took it in turns to speak about what we had covered over the 3 weeks, what it was about, what they hoped we had achieved etc.

The talks were good and surprisingly people did have questions which was great, because a genuine concern and interest.

We all got together as a group and met other’s friends, halves, work colleagues etc and have promised to stay in touch.

We all have a review at the centre again in a month then 3 months later.

Summary of the course for me.

Like most things, nothing is perfect.  There were things that I felt needed improving, it felt in places like it was a touch stuck in knowledge wise a few years back.   I feel the exercise routines should be generated from one to ones with everyone, this is probably the main area that I had gripes with.

There were however other parts of the course that I loved.  We touched on Mindfulness, I think Mindfulness is a lifestyle choice and takes time to learn/embrace and find out about, perhaps promotion of reading material could have been implemented on this as I really do think it makes a huge difference.

The comraderie both from staff and others participating was very important and supportive.  For many it was the one time we could be together in a ‘safe’ and ‘supportive’ environment with others that ‘get it’.  Unfortunately none live near me but we have promised to keep in touch and have a BBQ in the Summer.

The main thing that I learned from this course that is very personal to me, is to lessen the fear, fear for me a huge barrier to all I want to achieve and this course has somehow helped me to lessen that.  I have done a few other things since more on the Spiritual Area, but both science and spirituality have confirmed that I need to take more time for me, to be more ‘selfish’ some might say.  I disagree that time for self isnt selfish it is necessary.

The course has been a huge challenge both emotionally and physically, very hard at times, upsetting at times, fun at times, inspirational at times, uplifting at times but most of all supportive.

I think it has been a great journey, one that I need to take the information away with  me and embrace, learn and integrate in to my life!

Thank you for those who have supported me so well on this journey with your amazing comments. xxx ❤ Justine xx

I am away from tomorrow for a week, but afterwards will post some more of the photos I took and update on the other little adventures I have been on x

© Justine Nagaur

 

18 thoughts on “Pain Management Programme Day 12 Last Day & Review

  1. Despite the few drawbacks that you mention, it looks like the course met its purpose – and it looks like it could be helpful to anyone, not only to chronic pain sufferers. It’s great news that you benefited from this experience! Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  2. I’m glad you had this opportunity. Mindfulness does take time and it needs to be a part of your every day life. That is what will get you through on even the roughest of days. I still struggle with it from time to time. I just found out that the group I was going to, that was put on hiatus because it got down to only 2 of us, is going to be starting back up in just a few weeks. I’m looking forward to it. It is hard work, there is laughter, tears, you name it, but it’s a safe place, like you said, and everyone there gets it. Do you practice doing breathing exercises and meditation. These things are very important for me and have helped me greatly. Of course, they both take a lot of practice and patience, but if you don’t give up, the reward is so very beneficial. I wish you the best on your journey, and know that I’m walking right along side you. We CAN do this, right? 🙂 Take care.xxxTammy

      1. That’s okay, we all slack off from time to time. I’ve been doing just that, myself. These withdrawals are keeping me from doing the things I usually do. I am going to do some breathing exercises and meditation today because I really need to get back at it before I lose my touch. Don’t pressure yourself to do it, otherwise you will just make it harder on yourself and it’s already hard enough. Then the shame and guilt of not doing it sets in. Do it when you can, and as often as you can. My therapist keeps telling me I can do several 5 minute meditations throughout the day and a longer one in the evening, if I choose. Sometimes we just need a break. Get back into it slowly, so you don’t set yourself up for what we perceive to be “failure.” That’s why I’m really trying hard to not set myself up for “failure.” I have that all or nothing mentality, you know. I was told to make a list of goals, so I did. I had 35 goals. LOL I know, right?!! I was busting my ass to do all 35 goals in one day, of which by the way is and was impossible. My therapist was like, “Tammy, that is very unrealistic and I did not mean for you to use all those goals in one day,” which is what my understanding was. I was getting so frustrated trying to do all that crap on my list. LOL She said she meant for me to make a list of several goals and choose at least 2 each day. sigh……………….I swear! Hope your having a good day, my friend. Peace out! Tammy 🙂

Leave a comment